hournomad.blogg.se

Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1
Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1







  1. Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 full#
  2. Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 pro#
  3. Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 software#
  4. Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 windows#

Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 pro#

I was tempted to go with a i7-6950X processor, but since I still was on a budget (and that 1000$ profit went into a black hole) I settled with the i7-6700k, and decided to go with 32GB of ram instead of 64GB, since the Mac Pro rarely used it all. In the meantime I had started to research what my Hackintosh build would look like. I stripped my Mac Pro off the best hardware, that is the GTX980TI and the SM951 M.2 drive, and sold the Mac Pro 5,1 with a 1000$ profit! (There's crazy people out there.) And after seeing used Mac Pro 4.1/5.1 with lesser specs than mine for over 2000$, I got tempted to see if I could make a profit off selling a 8 years old used computer. My Lacie 2.Big Thunderbolt 2-cabinett also supports USB 3, so the lack of thunderbolt didn't really bother me.īUT after seeing some Youtube-videos of people making a clear statement that a CustoMac Pro Hackintosh would be "SO much better" than the cMP, I started to doubt that my build really was that good. Worked perfectly well for my 4K editing, after effects rendering and playing the Original Starcraft that was re-released a few weeks back! So, this became a beast of a machine! Total buildcost around 1200$. I didn't buy a flashd card, since I had the original Apple GT120-card aswell, if I ever needed to see the bootscreen. So I eventually upgraded for a GTX980TI (And a few weeks later Nvidia announced the mac support for Pascal architecture. To be able to use all of my external drives that I keep my projects on, I also bought a USB3 card that was plug-and-play.įor graphics I started out with a GTX680 2GB which worked fine, but felt like a bottleneck in my 4K editing. Then after some research I eventually got my hands on a cheap M.2 SM951 256gb drive (Really fast drive, ~ 1500mb/sec r/w speed) since the cMP only supports SATA2 (~500mb/s r/w), this really speed things up! I installed it with a M2 to PCIe adapter. I started with upgrading firmware to 5.1, then installed new processors (2x X5680 3.33 GHz 6 core each) and installed 64 gb of RAM 1333 MHz DDR3. I didn't max it out all the way, mostly ended up with "the next best things", since the best was almost twice the money. (Father of 2 kids under 2 years old, a house in big renovating needs, no time, no money, but a lot of inspiration!) I bought it, and made a project out of maxing it out, for as little money as possible. Then I got offered to buy a cheap 2009 Mac Pro 4.1 with dual xeon processors earlier this year.

Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 windows#

Considered Windows for a while, but that made me shiver. I have been using my 2013 15" rMBP and a 2012 27" iMac for a long time, and they have started to feel slow, especially since I upped my game from FullHD-editing, for 4K editing last year.īut I couldn't really finance a new mac for 4000$. So, to make a very long story medium long. The power extension is child's play, though, especially if you're used to Mac Pro tinkering.Building a CustoMac Hackintosh: Buyer's Guide Failure to do so prevents the card from functioning. The card must be powered to completely meet the USB-C specification, and for most of us, the best way is to use to the power leads in the 5.25-inch optical drive bay. But, why would you want to hook up a keyboard or mouse to USB-C anyway with other ports available? The card worked driver-free in the 4,1 and 5,1, but was slightly problematic in the 3,1 under El Capitan with periodic disconnects of input devices -but no problems with mass storage.

Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 full#

The Aukey B01AAETL6Y PCI Express card with 2 USB 3.1 Type-C ports does work on the 3,1, 4,1 and 5,1 Mac Pro, and can deliver a full 10 gigabits per second transfer speed from each port.Ĭonsidering the USB native to the Mac Pro tower is USB 2.0, the much faster speed is welcome.

Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1 software#

However, from time to time, there are solutions that just drop in, and nothing is needed from a software perspective.ĭespite not advertising macOS compatibility, Aukey has a macOS 10.11 and 10.12-compatible USB 3.1 Type C card. The key for some of these adventures sometimes relies on third-party drivers, like for PCI-e graphics cards from Nvidia.

usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1

For some older gear, the tinkering has mostly come to an end, but properly outfitted, the last two models of the Mac Pro tower can still be competitive with the "6,1" Coke-can 2013 Mac Pro. An inexpensive card available from Amazon allows users of Apple's Mac Pro tower with PCI-E slots to get some of the benefits of the new USB-C connector -and faster USB 3.1 speeds.įor a long time, adventurous Mac Pro users have been fiddling with third-party hardware to extend the life of the systems.









Usb 3.1 card for mac pro 5.1